How to Ditch the Diet & Get Healthy for Life

I’m really not a fan of fad diets. Sure, they’re interesting, and they may work to de-bloat and lose some weight fast, but I’m more about making healthy eating and obtaining a healthy weight into a routine that can last, into a lifestyle.

20131010-114540.jpg

I AM a big fan of eating. And eating real, whole foods, not packaged meals, meal replacement bars and shakes, or getting a lot of my nutrients from supplements. It’s just not my thing. I like to cook (in simple, quick, and/or low-maintenance ways). As silly as it may sound, I like to chew. I like to eat things that taste good. I think there are probably a lot of people out there that can agree. So, when I began my journey into healthy eating and healthy living, I knew that in order to make changes last, I had to be able to cook, chew, and eat. A lot.

And I can tell you, I wasn’t giving up chocolate either. or coffee.

Now that I’m spreading the message that “healthy is a way of life” to my family, friends, and clients, I’ve come up with 6 steps to get out of that yo-yo diet mode for good and grab onto a life full of healthy nourishment (and without deprivation) with both hands.

  1. Understand where you are right now and start from there. Don’t think about what everyone else is doing or compare yourself to them. You are on your own journey. Every person is unique, at a different place in life, under a different set of circumstances, and has different needs and goals for their body, their health, and their life. Find YOUR place here and now. Don’t dwell on the past. Start anew today.
  2. Follow the 80/20 rule. Who likes deprivation and denial? To feel guilty for eating the huge piece of birthday cake at your friend’s party? Not me. Besides, denying yourself is not a healthy habit, and it is rarely sustainable to be on a diet that says you “can’t eat this or that” – doesn’t that just make you want it more?
    This is where the 80/20 rule comes in: make sure about 80% of your diet each day/week is filled with wholesome, nutritiously dense choices, and then you have about 20% for wiggle room, that piece of pizza (or two )on Friday night, or that holiday cookie baking day when you decide to taste-test each batch, etc. No need for guilt. That’s not “failure.” It’s all good. Just focus on getting at least 80% of the good stuff each day.
  3. Learn to be a prepper. Yes, buying fresh produce, whole grains, and fresh meats usually means more work when compared to piling your freezer and pantry full of quickly-prepared packaged foods.
    My solution: prep ahead. When you come home from the grocery store, wash and cut up all of your produce so it’s ready to go when it’s time to whip up a quick stir-fry or to grab for lunch or a snack with some hummus or other dip. If the food’s cut up and waiting right there in the fridge for you, it’s much harder to ignore. Also, try to cook once, and eat twice (or three, or four times!): for example, cook a big batch of a whole grain on the weekend, and use it throughout the week for any meal. Grains will usually hold up in the fridge for at least a week.
  4. Get support. Tell your family and friends about what you’re doing and the goals you have. This not only helps to hold you accountable, but it can also help to create a support network for you on your journey to reach your goals.
  5. Love yourself up. Remember, slip-ups happen. We all have bad days, week, or even months. Life happens, but it’s all okay. This is about a lifelong change, not a quick fix. Always take time to take stock of just how far you’ve come. And keep going.
  6. Get direction and have a plan to get you going.When I first started changing my diet to become vegetarian, I didn’t really know what I was doing. I became the stereotypical junk-food-college-vegetarian real fast, and my health suffered. I had no direction, no real knowledge about going vegetarian, and no plan. Looking back, I realize how naive I was, but hey, I was 18, and I’m just glad I caught and changed my unhealthy pasta-tarian ways when I did. You really do need to be informed. There is so much misinformation out there, and it’s hard to cut through the junk. Read up, ask professionals, talk with others dealing with similar concerns or who are interested in adopting a healthy lifestyle too. Make sure to always talk with your doctor about any changes you are thinking about making.

Are you ready to the jump into a healthier lifestyle?

  • 20131010-111749.jpgDo you want to learn which foods are right for your unique body?
  • Do you need direction and support to get you going in the right direction?
  • Do you want to learn how to make changes that last a lifetime?
  • Do you want to slim down and feel better than ever this holiday season and be that one that everyone asks “WOW, WHAT HAVE YOU BEEN DOING?! You look fantastic!”?

Yes. You are so ready.
Jump over to: http://sarah-schott.healthcoach1.integrativenutrition.com/revitalize-your-body-fall-program
and check out my 11-Day Fall Revitalize Your Body Program

spiralized zucchini pasta with red pepper sauce

**
+ Get the limited time special price of: $49.95 before October 23!
+ Grab a friend (yay buddy system!) and save an additional 10% total!

Click here for more information and to start your transformation: Revitalize Your Body Fall Program

Leave a Reply

